The juries for “The Robert Coover Award for a Work of Electronic Literature,” “The N. Katherine Hayles Award for Criticism of Electronic Literature,” and “The Marjorie C. Luesebrink Career Achievement Award” are comprised of award-winning international artists and scholars.

Jury for The Robert Coover Award for a Work of Electronic Literature

  • Dr. Leonardo Flores is Professor of English at the University of Puerto Rico: Mayagüez Campus and the Treasurer for the Electronic Literature Organization. He was the 2012-2013 Fulbright Scholar in Digital Culture at the University of Bergen. His research areas include electronic literature, poetry, and preservation of first generation electronic objects. He is the lead writer, publisher, and editor of a scholarly blogging project titled ♥ E-Poetry (http://iloveepoetry.com).
  • Dr. Jason Edward Lewis is Professor of Design and Computation Arts at Concordia University. A digital media artist, poet and software designer, he founded Obx Laboratory for Experimental Media, where he directs research/ creation projects using virtual environments to assist Aboriginal communities in preserving, interpreting and communicating cultural histories, devising new means of creating and reading digital texts, developing systems for creative use of mobile technology. He is also the director of the Initiative for Indigenous Futures, a seven-year SSHRC-funded Partnership focused on how Indigenous communities imaging themselves seven generations hence.
  • Dr. Dene Grigar is Professor and Director of The Creative Media & Digital Culture Program at Washington State University Vancouver whose research focuses on the creation, curation, preservation, and criticism of Electronic Literature. She has authored 14 media works such as “Curlew” (2014), “A Villager’s Tale” (2011), the “24-Hour Micro E-Lit Project” (2009), “When Ghosts Will Die” (2008), and “Fallow Field: A Story in Two Parts” (2005). She also curates exhibits of electronic literature and media art, mounting shows at the Library of Congress and for the Symposium on Electronic Art (ISEA) and the Modern Language Association (MLA), among other venues. With Stuart Moulthrop she produced an open-source, multimedia book entitled Pathfinders and book of media art criticism, entitled Traversals, for The MIT Press. She is President of the Electronic Literature Organization and Associate Editor of Leonardo Reviews. In 2017 She was awarded the Louis E. and Stella G. Buchanan Distinguished Professorship by WSU.

The N. Katherine Hayles Award for Criticism of Electronic Literature

  • Joseph Tabbi is the author of Cognitive Fictions (2002) and Postmodern Sublime: Technology and American Writing from Mailer to Cyberpunk (Cornell). He edits the electronic book review and has edited and introduced William Gaddis’s last fiction and collected non-fiction (Viking/Penguin). His essay on Mark Amerika appeared at the Walker Art Center’s phon:e:me site, a 2000 Webby Award nominee.
  • Eric Le May is the author of Immortal Milk: Adventures in Cheese (Free Press, 2010), The One in the Many (Zoo Press, 2003), and In Praise of Nothing: Essays, Memoir, and Other Experiments. He received an MFA in writing from Columbia University and a Ph.D. in English literature from Northwestern University. He serves as Web Editor for Alimentum: The Literature of Food. His work has appeared in The NationThe Harvard ReviewThe Paris ReviewGastronomicaPoetry Daily, and the Best Food Writing series.
  • Professor Will Luers is a digital media artist and writer living in Portland,Oregon. He teaches multimedia authoring, creative programming, digital storytelling and digital cinema in the Creative Media & Digital Culture program at Washington State University Vancouver. His art works have been exhibited internationally and selected for various festivals and conferences, including the Electronic Literature Organization, FILE(Brazil) and ISEA. In 2016, his collaboration with Hazel Smith and Roger Dean (motions), was selected for the ELO Collection Volume 3; their work Novelizing was short-listed for the Turn It On Literature Prize sponsored by the European Union.

The Marjorie C. Luesebrink Career Achievement Award

  • Dr. Nick Montfort develops computational poetry and art and has participated in dozens of literary and academic collaborations. Recent books includes Exploratory Programming for the Arts and Humanities (MIT Press) and several books of computational poetry: #!, the collaboration 2×6, and Autopia. He has worked to contribute to several new fields of study: platform studies, critical code studies, software studies, and electronic literature.
  • Dr. Alice Bell teaches at Sheffield Hallam University and is interested in how digital technology can enhance and evolve literature. She studies literature written specifically for digital media, which often combine text with images, film, and sound. As a literary-linguist, she is interested in how language works in digital fiction. She is also interested in how readers process these texts cognitively.
  • Dr. Stuart Moulthrop is an acclaimed author and critic, best known for his Victory Garden and Reagan Library, which appeared in the Electronic Literature Collection, Volume 1. More recently, Moulthrop has been awarded the international Vinaros Prize for 2007 in two categories: Deep Surface in the Narrative category and Under Language in Poetry. Moulthrop is currently a Professor of English at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee