Image of Stuart Moulthrop

Stuart Moulthrop

Stuart Moulthrop is Professor of English at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and a member of the Board of Directors of the Electronic Literature Organization. He is author of several notable works of digital art and writing, including Victory Garden (1991), which Robert Coover called a "benchmark" for electronic fiction, “Hegirascope” (1995 and 1997), which rattled off the bench and fell on the floor, and the later works including "Deep Surface" and "Under Language," which in 2007 won international prizes for narrative and poetry. In 2012 Moulthrop and Dene Grigar initiated the NEH-funded Pathfinders project to preserve early digital literature, work which led to an online e-book and the critical study Traversals (The MIT Press, 2017). In 2017 Moulthrop was invited to read and lecture on digital writing at the Seoul International Forum for Literature. His most recent digital fiction, “Show’s Over,” appears in the online version of Vassar Review.

Image of Hegirascope interface

Hegirascope 1.0

Website Not Online

About Hegirascope 1.0

1995, 1997

"'What if the word will not be still?' are the opening words of Stuart Moultrop’s dynamic, meta- or anti-theoretical "web fiction" Hegirascope, first released in 1995. . . . It incorporates 175 pages and more than 700 links, which are only partially visible and controllable. According to the author himself (1997), most pages "carry instructions that cause the browser to refresh the active window with a new page after 30 seconds. You can circumvent this by following a hypertext link, though in most cases this will just start a new half-minute timer on a fresh page." The best starting point is, as Moulthrop suggests, to either "dive in" or navigate via an index page to the most significant sequences."—Electronic Literature Directory

©2017 Beyond Grammatron. All rights reserved.