Judy Malloy


We are honoring this artist with a retrospective of her work at the WVU Downtown Library.  The work listed on this page will be featured in the exhibit.

In the 25 years since she first wrote “Uncle Roger” on Art Com Electronic Network, Judy Malloy has created an innovative body of new media narrative poetry that in hypertextual structures explores the lives of artists. Her work has been exhibited and published internationally including the San Francisco Art Institute; Tisch School of the Arts, NYU; Sao Paulo Biennial; National Library of Madrid; Los Angeles Institute for Contemporary Art; Universite Paris I-Pantheon-Sorbonne; Walker Art Center; University of Arizona Museum of Art; E-Poetry; the Electronic Literature Organization Conference; Boston Cyberarts Festival; Eastgate Systems; E .P. Dutton; Tanam Press; MIT Press; Leonardo; Springer Verlag; and The Iowa Review Web, as well as short listed for the Prix poesie-media 2009, Biennale Internationale des poetes en Val de Marne.

Judy Malloy has been an artist in residence and consultant in the document of the future for Xerox PARC and taught as Visiting Faculty in the Digital Media program at the San Francisco Art Institute. As an arts writer, she has worked most notably as Editor of The New York Foundation for the Arts' NYFA Current. (formerly Arts Wire Current) She is currently the editor of Authoring Software, a resource for teachers and students.

Works featured in her retrospective exhibit include:

“Uncle Roger” (1986)

http://www.well.com/user/jmalloy/uncleroger/unclerog.html; The web version was first implemented in 1995; notes on Uncle Roger: http://www.well.com/user/jmalloy/uncleroger/uncle.html

“its name was Penelope,” Eastgate Systems (1993);  iPad edition (2012), http://www.eastgate.com/catalog/Penelope.html

“l0ve0ne,” Eastgate Web Workshop (1994)


(Permission has been granted by Eastgate

to run this work from their website)

“Forward Anywhere” (with Cathy Marshall), Eastgate Systems (1996); http://www.eastgate.com/catalog/ForwardAnywhere.html

“The Roar of Destiny” (1996-2000)


“A Party at Silver Beach” (2003)


“Paths of Memory and Painting” (2010)


“From Ireland with Letters” (2012)


“Making Art Online" (1991-94)

Walker Art Center Telematic Connections:  Archived Historical Web Version http://telematic.walkerart.org/timeline/timeline_malloy.html

“Dorothy Abrona McCrae” (2000)


“Spring Day Notation” (2010)



"its name was Penelope,"

by Judy Malloy

iPad edition forthcoming from Eastgate Systems, Inc; screenshot by generous permission of Eastgate Systems Inc.